Connect with us


When was Imo State Created



When was Imo State created | Who Was The First Governor Of Imo State |Geographical Location Of Imo State| Google Map Of Imo State

Brief History of Imo State

Imo state one of the 36 states in Nigeria that is situated within the south-east geopolitical area of the country. Owerri is the capital and also the largest city aside Orlu and Okigwe.


Imo State occupies the area between the lower River Niger and the upper and middle Imo River.

Year Imo State Was Created

Imo State came into existence in 1976 along with other new states created under the leadership of the late military ruler of Nigeria, Murtala Muhammad, having been previously part of East-Central State. The state is named after the Imo River

Governments Since The Creation Of Imo State

The state has a three-tier administrative structure: State, Local and Autonomous community levels. The three arms at state level are the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary. The executive arm is headed by an elected Governor who is assisted by a deputy governor, commissioners and executive advisers.

This is a list of administrators and governors of Imo State since its creation.

Name Title Took office Left office Party
Ndubuisi Kanu Governor Mar 1976 1977 (Military)
Adekunle Lawal Governor 1977 Jul 1978 (Military)
Sunday Ajibade Adenihun Governor Jul 1978 Oct 1979 (Military)
Samuel Onunaka Mbakwe Governor 1 Oct 1979 31 Dec 1983 NPP
Ike Nwachukwu Governor Jan 1984 Aug 1985 (Military)
Allison Amakoduna Madueke Governor Aug 1985 1986 (Military)
Amadi Ikwechegh Governor 1986 1990 (Military)
Anthony E. Oguguo Governor Aug 1990 Jan 1992 (Military)
Evan Enwerem Governor Jan 1992 Nov 1993 NRC
James N.J. Aneke Administrator 9 Dec 1993 22 Aug 1996 (Military)
Tanko Zubairu Administrator 22 Aug 1996 May 1999 (Military)
Achike Udenwa Governor 29 May 1999 29 May 2007 PDP
Ikedi G. Ohakim Governor 29 May 2007 29 May 2011 PPA / PDP
Owelle Rochas Anayo Okorocha Governor 29 May 2011 To Date APGA/APC

The legislative arm is headed by the Speaker of the State House of Assembly. The current Speaker is Rt. Hon. Ihenacho Ihim, and his deputy is Rt. Hon. Ugonna .Ozurigbo The remainder of the house is made up of elected legislators from the 27 LGAs of the state.

The judiciary is made up of the high court of justice and the customary court of appeal, and is headed by the Chief Judge of the state.

Geographical Location Of Imo State On The Map

Imo State is located along the boarder between Abia State on the East, River Niger and Delta State to the West, Anambra State on the North and Rivers State to the South.

The state lies within latitudes 4°45’N and 7°15’N, and longitude 6°50’E and 7°25’E with an area of around 5,100 sq km.

Map Of Imo State

Similar Posts:


David Chris is writer and a staff at He is also an internet guru who who loves reading and making new friends

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2016 -2018 NGYAB.COM